Double Chocolate Cookies

I know at the end of my last post that I would be giving you another recipe last week, but I got busy with school, life, and a girls day with the ladies of the Friday Night Dinner crew. I do have a pretty delicious recipe for you all this week though. This is a tried and tested recipe of mine that is one of my favourites to make; it’s made appearances at Friday Night Dinners and occasionally fills care packages we send to my brother and sister while they’re away at university (sorry guys, it’s not in the package you’re getting this week 🙂 ).

Girls Day Cuddle Pile!

Girls Day Cuddle Pile!

February has been a pretty awesome month for me. If you “like” my Facebook page, you’ll now I’ve officially signed the paperwork to be a recipe developer for The Oregonian! I’m so excited about this new venture and I’ve already got some really cool recipes and projects that I’m working on for them. The support and feedback I’ve got from you about this means so much to me so thanks for that 🙂

Earlier this week Taylor and I went back to our high school to visit one of our favourite teachers. It was so good to catch up with him and hear all about the wonderful things going on at SMA. We talked about school, Italy, Greece, what’s going on in all of our lives and so many other things. Walking through the doors of SMA seriously feels like coming home; I couldn’t imagine having gone to another school and consider myself so lucky to be a Blue.

Now for the recipe. These double chocolate cookies are seriously so easy to make and are so, so good. I’m pretty sure it’s impossible to eat just one. I use white chocolate chips because I like the contrast between dark batter and light chips, but if you prefer to use regular chocolate chips you totally can. Hope you all enjoy them!

IMG_6087

Double Chocolate Cookies:
Makes 22 Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder (dark or regular)
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. In a large bowl, beat butter, sugar, egg and vanilla extract until light and fluffy. In another bowl, combine the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt; stir into the butter mixture until well blended. Mix in the white chocolate chips. Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.
  3. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Cool slightly on the cookie sheets, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

IMG_6094

IMG_6101

2 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Cookies

  1. Pingback: “Death by Chocolate” Fudge Cookies | Bryony Cooks

Leave a Reply

