Easter Egg Nest Cupcakes

Hello!

This recipe is the Easter recipe I developed for The Oregonian. It’s so simple and easy to make and they taste pretty wonderful too. I like to use Cadbury’s Mini Eggs for these because everything from England is better but if you can’t find them or would rather use something else, go for it.

photo 2

These are a great family recipe — everyone can get together in the kitchen and mix ingredients, decorate the cupcakes and sneak a couple of mini eggs for themselves 🙂

IMG_6376

IMG_6383

Last week was my first week back at school since spring break. I’m only taking two classes while I build up strength in my knee so I’m only on campus two days a week. I’m taking a baking and pastry class and I’m so excited to learn how to bake different things and improve upon what I already know. I’ll definitely share some of the recipes we use in class with you. We made some bread last week and my groups’ loaves were delicious.

I’m also taking a food and beverage operations class where I’ll be learning more about how the ‘front of house’ aspect of a restaurant works. We also get to do some wine tasting so you know I’m excited about that!

I would have written this post sooner, but we had such a beautiful weekend in Portland I just spent time enjoying the sunshine. There’s nothing better than sunny days here. Nothing.

photo

IMG_6513

Easter Egg Nest Cupcakes:
Makes 18 Cupcakes

Cupcakes: 

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt

Frosting: 

  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2 tbsp. heavy cream
  • 1 cup chocolate, grated or flaked
  • 54 Cadbury’s mini eggs (or equivalent)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Place 18 paper cups in muffin pans.
  2. In a large bowl, combine butter and sugar until smooth. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Stir in vanilla extract.
  3. In another bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt. Add to wet ingredients and stir to combine. Scoop into prepared baking cups.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and cool for 5 minutes in pan, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
  5. Once cool, combine the chocolate chips and heavy cream in a small saucepan; heat and stir until melted and smooth. Swirl on top of cupcakes, top with flaked chocolate pieces and adorn with three mini eggs.

photo 4

IMG_6388

photo 3

3 thoughts on “Easter Egg Nest Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Easter Nests | Bryony Cooks

  2. Pingback: Salted Caramel Chocolate Swirl Cupcakes | Bryony Cooks

Leave a Reply

