Onion, Mushroom & Asparagus Frittata

Here is the second of three Mother’s Day brunch recipes I developed for The Oregonian. Yesterday I shared with you my recipe for cinnamon & nutmeg French toast and today is the recipe for my frittata.

IMG_6525

I love frittatas. Whisk up some eggs, throw in some cheese, then add pretty much whatever else you want and ‘voila!’ Done. I’m a big fan of vegetables in my frittatas. You could absolutely add bacon or sausage if that’s your thing but give me a vegetable frittata any day of the week.

This little guy was seriously so good. I picked up the cheese from a local farmer’s market and it was possibly my favourite component of this whole brunch. Taylor and I literally sat there eating cheese while we were cooking. It was great.

IMG_6517

I have this weird thing about combining onions, mushrooms and asparagus. It’s one of my favourite veggie combinations and I can’t quite explain it. As I said before, you can pretty much add anything you want to a frittata. Kale, spinach, swiss chard, peppers…the list is endless. Find what you (or mum) likes, throw it in, and see how it turns out!

IMG_6518

Then let me know. I’m always interested in different flavour combinations and I love hearing from you all.

Onion, Mushroom and Asparagus Frittata: 
Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs
  • 1 tsp. dried thyme
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 tbsp. butter
  • 2 cups mushrooms, quartered
  • 1/2 cup sliced onion
  • 1 bunch asparagus
  • 1/3 cup grated Gouda (or Gruyere)

Directions:

  1. Blanch asparagus in boiling water for 1-2 minutes. Transfer to an ice bath. Once cool, chop and set aside.
  2. Crack eggs into a bowl. Add thyme and black pepper, whisking to combine.
  3. In a skillet over medium heat, add the butter. Add the onions and mushrooms and cook for 10-12 minutes, until caramelized. Don’t stir too often.
  4. Turn heat down to medium-low, let cool for 2 minutes. Pour in eggs and sprinkle asparagus and cheese on top. Cover skillet with a lid and cook until the centre of the frittata is set, about 8-10 minutes. Slide out of pan, cut into quarters and serve.

IMG_6526

IMG_6544

Leave a Reply

